Ready for your big OE? Welcome to Nannies Abroad

A Family Requiring A Nanny for January 2020


A family requiring a nanny for January 2020

2020 nanny job description
– Flexible, mature, easy going and experienced nanny required with clean driving license, ideally with formal childcare or teaching qualification; must have previous experience looking after toddlers and enjoy the company of teenagers – for busy professional parents living in a lovely and peaceful 6 bedroom detached home (newly renovated) with large garden on a quiet street with friendly neighbours, in the beautiful central area of Primrose Hill/ Belsize Park which is right next to Camden. Musical interest and some knowledge of French would be fantastic but not essential. Keen cook, animal friendly and non smoker essential. Ideally looking for a nanny willing to potentially stay for 2 years / with ancestry rights would be amazing as we have a long term job to offer.

Four boys aged 2 years, 7, 14 and 17 years old.
The two teenage boys are at the same boarding school close to London during term time but come home regularly at weekends and have long school holidays. The 7 year old is going in to year 3 in September at a local primary school 5 days a week 830-4pm. Our toddler attends French Creche two mornings a week and will be gradually increasing to attend nursery 5 mornings a week from January.

They are smart, friendly, well-mannered boys who are always interested in new experiences and other people.
The oldest boy loves an eclectic mix of music (he plays drums and piano and loves drill and rap music), drama,streetwear fashion and fishing. He is currently applying to universities and is thinking about a career in law. He is very close to his 14 year old brother who loves all sports especially rowing and football , and also plays drums at school. The 7 years old is also a passionate football player and knows every international football stars name and club(!) , also plays cricket, Judo and chess and he plays the piano and sings.

Our youngest is a very happy toddler in a great routine who loves all typical toddler activities, singing and music and is being brought up bilingually in French and English as Dad speaks fluent French and mum also speaks French to a good standard.
He also loves a good cuddle.
Mum is a hospital doctor (Obstetrician) and dad works in finance. They normally work quite long hours with Mum working regular night shifts or weekends every few weeks. She works part time, usually c 3- 4 shifts per week , equalling 30-35 hours a week on average. Dad travels abroad regularly for work usually on short trips. Both are very hands on parents who expect good polite behaviour and kindness towards others from their kids at all times.

The family also have a home in the countryside which they go to approximately one to two weekends a month. The family have no pets currently but are thinking about adding to the family with a kitten or puppy in the next year hence must be an animal lover. They are non-smokers. The family keep a lovely cleaner who comes twice a week for heavier cleaning duties. They are very tidy as a family and the house is very well organised with lots of storage and is kept very clean.

The hours of work would be 7.15am until 7.15pm (sometimes 7.300pm) Monday to Friday.
We would appreciate the flexibility and willingness to work one or maximum two half day Saturdays per month by prior arrangement, with time off given in lieu during the week (eg Monday morning ) for working half day Saturday or extra hourly pay.

Our nanny has responsibility for everything to do with the younger children such as preparing their breakfast and taking them to school / nursery / toddler classes ( combination of walk/drive or scoot). To then return home to tidy the kitchen and kids bedrooms, empty dishwasher, put a family wash load on, fold and put away family laundry and do children’s ironing, assist mum with errands etc. To pick up the toddler from creche at 11/1130, prepare a healthy organic lunch being mindful of food allergies which the two youngest suffer from (dairy and egg) , play with him and help to develop his skills, put him down for a nap after lunch and attend some afternoon toddler classes with him, pick up the 7 year old from school accommodating several weekly after school activities that he does like cricket and school clubs; supervise him with any homework (reading and maths), preparing dinner (our nanny usually has dinner with the kids c 6pm ) and tidying away, to do bath time and bed-time stories.

Be happy to help with family cooking during the day and occasional evening meals for parents ( eg make a bigger amount of a family meal). We love food and healthy eating (Dad is a great cook); we bake our own bread and have a small organic fruit and veg bed in our garden so a keen interest in cooking is essential.

To be happy to do arts and crafts; build Lego and other toy creations; organize play dates for the kids; be sporty and happy to kick a football around the garden/park, jump on our trampoline, play games, do some baking with them , and have lots of fun.

During school holidays – to organise activities and sports courses for the younger kids and trips around London eg to cool museums and exhibitions; arrange and supervise fun play dates as well as support the teenage boys during exam revision times as they become more independent in their interests!

Be willing and able to help with administrative tasks relating to the children eg booking holiday clubs online , do errands during the day such as help with ordering and unpacking the online weekly food shop, sewing of kids nametapes into clothes, drop off/ pick up dry cleaning, buy presents for kids parties and helping to organise our younger kids’ birthday parties, posting items, picking up groceries if required and making and taking kids to appointments should the children need to see a doctor/ dentist/ orthodontist etc if Mum is working that day.
She would have her own good size single light filled bedroom with storage for clothes, belongings and keepsakes and a flat screen TV.
The room is done up to a very high standard like the rest of the house and has two windows which directly overlook our south facing garden and sole use of own en suite shower room (all newly refurbished). Located next to separate house entrance with good separation from family bedrooms which are two floors up.

Babysitting will be required two nights weekly Monday to Friday. Saturday evening babysitting would only be occasional and be by prior agreement with lots of notice for extra pay by the hour . Be willing to travel with them to the countryside on Friday evening to help on occasional Saturdays and be willing to accompany them on family holidays including skiing and warm destinations (Max two weeks per year)

Automatic driving ability and a clean license essential and someone who is confident in city driving / traffic and parking, but who is also happy to occasionally undertake longer trips on the motorway in family car eg to family home or grandparents.

We are looking for a nanny with lots of initiative, flexibility and common sense, who will feel at home in a large well organised family and be happy to support working parents and love the children; ( plus loves pets in case we get one!) ; be fit and sporty with a happy, positive demeanour, a strong work ethic and ‘no-problem’ attitude and a genuine love of healthy cooking. Non-smoker essential. Recent paediatric first aid course essential.

Both our recent Australian live in nannies were much loved by us, stayed for the full two years each of their visas and would have liked to stay on longer with us . Both would be happy to be contacted to talk through the job and their experiences with us. Our previous live out European nanny before that stayed with our family for eight years and still contacts us regularly and we hope this is a reflection of the fact that we are a very friendly, warm, close family who greatly appreciate and respect our nannies and welcome them wholeheartedly into our family.

Our local area has many shops, three gorgeous huge parks, coffee bars, Camden Market, Primrose Hill, Hampstead Heath and absolutely everything to offer in this fantastic location. Central London is approximately 10-15 minutes away by either underground or bus or 30 minutes walk through Regents park.

Salary- we can offer £380 to 420 net weekly depending on qualifications and experience

We will pay £1000 towards cost of flights/ visa – refundable if they leave and offer £500 as previously towards cost of visit home after one year if they stay on with us for second year.

0 replies on “A Family Requiring A Nanny for January 2020”