Kiwi Zeta and her time in USA as an Au Pair in America

Hey, my name is Zeta and I live in Olney, Maryland.

I look after two girls a 9 year old, and 7 years old who has Cerebral Palsy as part of my year with the Au Pair in America Program. I have been here for 10 months now and have enjoyed it all!

Zetas-Year-as-an-Au-Pair-in-America-Kiwi3-2

My typical week includes working before school to help get the girls up, dressed and have their breakfast before they go on the bus to school (usually about 7am to 8.45am).

I then have the day free until it’s time to get the girls from school, on Mondays I take my youngest to Physiotherapy but the other days we come back to the house for homework and snacks.

After the homework is out of the way and my host parent is home from work I will get the girls bathed and into pjs before dinner. After dinner I am free to do as I wish however most nights I will stay in during week.

Meaning I usually I work from about 2pm till 8pm in the evenings.

At the weekends when I am not working I go shopping with my friends or we do something else fun. The shopping here is great as there is so much more range than in New Zealand and it’s so well priced!

Olney is a small town about half way between Washington DC and Baltimore. I have a car to myself which makes exploring the area easy, and I have also taken a few trips.

Zetas-Year-as-an-Au-Pair-in-America-Kiwi2

I went to New Orleans for 4 days in May with two of my friends from Germany, we had a great time and I went on a swamp tour! I got to hold a baby Alligator, was one of my best memories from the trip!
In June I went on a 3 day bus tour to Niagara Falls and stayed on the Canadian side which was absolutely beautiful! Definitely a place you should visit while in US, and there are great attractions you can go on while there to see the falls up close.

I went on the Maid of the Mist boat ride which took you to the base of the falls, and also on the Journey behind the falls walking tour where you go through tunnels that open up right behind the falls, it’s amazing how loud it is!
I also went on a weeklong trip to Bethany Beach, Delaware with my host mum, the girls and my host mums family. There were 14 of us all up and I loved how close it made me feel to my family, they all made me feel so welcome.

We just relaxed on the beach most days, but also spent a day shopping at the outlets and a day at an attraction park and went on go karts and some rides which was a lot of fun. I am also planning on going to Las Vegas in December before I come home; it’s going to be great!

You will have an amazing year, get to see some incredible things and meet new people from all across the world!